Skip to main content

In Perfect Time

In Perfect Time is the third WWII novel in the Wings of the Nightingale trilogy by Sarah Sundin.

Though each novel depicts a story featuring different characters, the characters overlap from book to book. For example, you’re introduced to Kay, the main character in In Perfect Time, in the first book and all the characters we met in the first book are still shown in this final novel.

Because of this, I definitely recommend reading the three books in order for maximum enjoyment. First there’s With Every Letter, then On Distant Shoes and THEN you can read In Perfect Time.


Okay then!

Gorgeous, red-headed bombshell flight nurse Lt. Kay Jobson doesn’t hide her penchant for a good time with a boy on every shore. She makes it clear from the get-go that she has a lineup of boyfriends and likes it that way.

So, when she meets handsome, prank prone pilot Lt. Roger Cooper and he resists her to-date irresistible charms, why does it bug her? Doesn’t she have enough men lining up for her attention?

Yet the fact that Roger not only seems immune to Kay – but flat out avoiding her – causes Kay to start to think about her life, her past and those childhood memories that compel her to evade her fellow flight nurses, and friends, Mellie and Georgie’s attempts to bring her to the Lord with salvation by believing in Jesus Christ.

As Kay and Roger cross each other’s paths as the war rages around them, going from Italy to France and beyond, Roger seems to begin to thaw a little toward her.

Could it be that Kay could settle on just one man?

If he was the right one?

Sarah Sundin’s With Every Letter and On Distant Shores impressed me – and In Perfect Time did as well. I’ll admit that With Every Letter is still my favorite of the three, yet each of the novels held many excellent themes and plots.

In Perfect Time, without being too heavy handed in my opinion, presents superb Biblical principles while providing characters that are not even close to being perfect, each struggling with their pasts, insecurities, fears and ingrained flaws.

The historical aspect is fresh and makes me yearn for the patriotic days of the 1940s!

Happily, the romance is built slowly – the best way. However, I’ll admit that as the book continued on the love story hits the same wall multiple times, which made that particular aspect of the book rather repetitive.

Overall, In Perfect Time held a ton of wartime suspense, character development, inspiring Christian perspectives and American nostalgia to create a satisfying finale to a winning WWII era trilogy.

*I received a copy of In Perfect Time from the Baker Publishing Group. Their generosity in no way influenced, nor sought to influence, my opinion of the novel.


Sarah Sundin said…
Angie - thank you so much for the wonderful review! I'm glad you liked Kay & Roger's story.

Popular posts from this blog

Real Live Boyfriends

Real Live Boyfriends is a YA contemporary novel by E. Lockhart, and the fourth novel in the Ruby Oliver quartet.

Here we are on the last day of “Ruby Oliver Week” and if you aren’t already reading these books – well, why not?

But I’m more than sure most of you are – and hopefully you’re all caught up, and therefore not at risk of being spoiled by my review of Real Live Boyfriends. You’ve been warned!

Ruby Oliver is beginning her senior year of high school with a real live boyfriend: Noel.

At least she thought she was.

After having spent the rest of junior year and the beginning of summer being fully in love (okay, they never actually said the word, but the vibes were strongly in that direction), Ruby is now confused.


When Noel went to visit his brother in New York for a while, almost every day they talked on the phone and exchanged funny emails. She never once felt insecure.

Until all of a sudden – communication stopped. Ruby would call and he wouldn’t answer. She’d leave a voice mai…

Titanic: S.O.S.

S.O.S. is the third and final book in Gordon Korman's middle-grade Titanic trilogy.

This is the third book in a trilogy, book addicts! You must, I repeat, must read the first two books (Unsinkable and Collision Course) before you read this review. Otherwise you are just going to ruin all the twists! Sure, we know the Titanic sinks - but the surprises that are revealed about our characters, among other things, should not be spoiled!

But all of you that have read the first two books (which I hope are many of you, because this a great series), can rest assured that I won't spoil anything from S.O.S. itself - just a basic recap and my opinion.

Here goes:

The Titanic is sinking. No one wants to believe it, but the bow is almost imperceptibly starting to dip into the freezing Atlantic Ocean - and our four main characters are thrown into a race for survival.

Paddy is locked up below deck, having finally been caught as a stowaway. In one cell over are the very criminals that wish him dead…


Why hello there, loyal readers!

It's been a long, long time since I last wrote about a new novel - or wrote much of anything original. Life has definitely changed for me in many ways, changing how and where I devote my time.

But... whaddya know? I managed to finally finish a book!

Gardenia is a YA genre mash of murder mystery with a dash of sci-fi/fantasy, written by author Kelsey Sutton.

When Ivy's best friend died, it wasn't a surprise to her.

Because, ever since she was little, Ivy has seen the numbers over everyone's heads. Their countdown, if you will.

But she didn't know the cause of her best friend's death would be... murder.

Labled as a bit of an outcast, due to her odd behavior and reaction to Vanessa's death, Ivy finds herself more alone than ever as she is determined to find her friend's killer.

And she doesn't have much time, herself... as she's known her whole life.

Now, she realizes, it may be that she may give up her life to catch…