Skip to main content

Love's Awakening

Love’s Awakening is the second book in Laura Frantz’s historical fiction series The Ballantyne Legacy.

As this is a series that follows the legacy, the generations, of a family – I strongly feel that reading the books in order are important. So, if you have not already, start with Silas and Eden’s journey in Love’s Reckoning – review here – before continuing on with Love’s Awakening.

Until then, I recommend avoiding this review for inevitable spoilers.

In Love’s Awakening, we return to Pennsylvania – this time in 1822.

Elinor Ballantyne, youngest child of Silas and Eden, is headed home – having made the executive decision that she had been “finished” enough at finishing school. Longing to see her family and friends again, she’s only slightly concerned what they will think of her choice.

As the lovely, delicate, mannered daughter, she’s been blessed with the chance to get the best schooling and opportunities – and with a fortune to rival others, she is extremely eligible.

Yet, the posts in the paper and near constant balls announcing this were enough to make her ill.

Starting a day school in her hometown for young ladies seemed like a good way to pass the time and do something useful, so Elinor puts her energies into that.

She didn’t expect for one of the students to be Chloe Turlock – the young sister of the slaveholding, whiskey magnate Turlock family – a family always shrouded in suspicion and fear.

Not one to turn a child away, Ellie finds it brings her closer to Jack Turlock. One of the wild, at least previously wild, older Turlock boys. She’s surprisingly drawn to him… though their families are essentially rivals.

Since returning home she finds that things have changed. There are secrets in her previously peaceful house. There are unexplained sounds in the attic. Unspoken dangers…

She never would’ve guessed that one of those dangers would be her heart.

I absolutely loved Love’s Reckoning – and in Love’s Awakening Laura Frantz continues to sweep us away in a spectacular manner!

This is a family saga that is gripping – truly.

Love’s Awakening instantly drew me into the time with unobtrusive details and ways of speech to make everything feel authentic. None of the characters feel strained or forced, as hers never seem to.

There’s an intensity of feeling that is soaked, seemingly effortlessly, into every page. It’s emotional without being melodramatic. It’s powerfully romantic without being maudlin. It’s heartbreaking without being manipulative.

Another thing I really appreciate about Love’s Awakening (and all of Laura Frantz’s novel that I have read so far) is that it is far more gritty, earthy and REAL than a lot of other Christian literature out there.

Love’s Awakening is an excellent family drama with soaring romance and profound character studies.

I know that there is another book coming in The Ballantyne Legacy – but I can’t help but hope there’s more than one to complete a trilogy of some sort.

To be honest, I’d like to follow this family’s legacy to present day times. Personally, I think that’d be awesome.

What do you think?

*Available August 2013 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.

*I received a copy of Love's Awakening from the Baker Publishing Group. Their generosity in no way influenced, nor sought to influence, my opinion of the novel.


Anonymous said…
I haven't seen this one around but it looks really good. The cover is
I recently read the first book and really enjoyed it :) I really need to
check out book 2!
Anonymous said…
Angie, Blessed beyond measure simply reading your review. You have a stunning way with words and I don't say that lightly. I pinned to Pinterest. Thanks for your time and the care with which you did this.
In Him,
Laura Frantz

Popular posts from this blog

Real Live Boyfriends

Real Live Boyfriends is a YA contemporary novel by E. Lockhart, and the fourth novel in the Ruby Oliver quartet.

Here we are on the last day of “Ruby Oliver Week” and if you aren’t already reading these books – well, why not?

But I’m more than sure most of you are – and hopefully you’re all caught up, and therefore not at risk of being spoiled by my review of Real Live Boyfriends. You’ve been warned!

Ruby Oliver is beginning her senior year of high school with a real live boyfriend: Noel.

At least she thought she was.

After having spent the rest of junior year and the beginning of summer being fully in love (okay, they never actually said the word, but the vibes were strongly in that direction), Ruby is now confused.


When Noel went to visit his brother in New York for a while, almost every day they talked on the phone and exchanged funny emails. She never once felt insecure.

Until all of a sudden – communication stopped. Ruby would call and he wouldn’t answer. She’d leave a voice mai…

Titanic: S.O.S.

S.O.S. is the third and final book in Gordon Korman's middle-grade Titanic trilogy.

This is the third book in a trilogy, book addicts! You must, I repeat, must read the first two books (Unsinkable and Collision Course) before you read this review. Otherwise you are just going to ruin all the twists! Sure, we know the Titanic sinks - but the surprises that are revealed about our characters, among other things, should not be spoiled!

But all of you that have read the first two books (which I hope are many of you, because this a great series), can rest assured that I won't spoil anything from S.O.S. itself - just a basic recap and my opinion.

Here goes:

The Titanic is sinking. No one wants to believe it, but the bow is almost imperceptibly starting to dip into the freezing Atlantic Ocean - and our four main characters are thrown into a race for survival.

Paddy is locked up below deck, having finally been caught as a stowaway. In one cell over are the very criminals that wish him dead…


Why hello there, loyal readers!

It's been a long, long time since I last wrote about a new novel - or wrote much of anything original. Life has definitely changed for me in many ways, changing how and where I devote my time.

But... whaddya know? I managed to finally finish a book!

Gardenia is a YA genre mash of murder mystery with a dash of sci-fi/fantasy, written by author Kelsey Sutton.

When Ivy's best friend died, it wasn't a surprise to her.

Because, ever since she was little, Ivy has seen the numbers over everyone's heads. Their countdown, if you will.

But she didn't know the cause of her best friend's death would be... murder.

Labled as a bit of an outcast, due to her odd behavior and reaction to Vanessa's death, Ivy finds herself more alone than ever as she is determined to find her friend's killer.

And she doesn't have much time, herself... as she's known her whole life.

Now, she realizes, it may be that she may give up her life to catch…