Skip to main content


Awaken is the third novel in the contemporary myth-retelling Abandon trilogy by Meg Cabot.

It’s the end of a trilogy. So, you know what I’m going to say.

Have you read Abandon? Have you read Underworld?

Well, those are books one and two – so, if you haven’t, DO NOT READ THIS REVIEW!!!

Instead, click on their titles and be whisked away to my reviews of those prior novels – and then go read the books!!!

Don’t go spoiling yourself here, okay?

Last chance to avert your eyes before the synopsis begins…

Seventeen year old Pierce Oliviera is not a normal teen girl.

For multiple reasons.

One, she’s died when she was fifteen. Or, actually, we should say she was murdered when she was fifteen.

But only temporarily. She was revived.

While she was dead she met John – John Hayden, lord of the Underworld. Extremely good looking, brooding, and wearer of tight pants.

After being revived she fought his affection – if that’s what you can call it when it was always rather angry and demanding – for quite some time.

Not any longer.

Pierce has fully accepted that she is in love with John – and that kinda makes her the queen of the Underworld.

Problem? There’s some issues going on down there.

The furies, which have been a threat to John for an epic amount of time, are still after him – and they’re beginning to succeed in causing all kinds of serious hiccups for the souls who need to board boats to their final destination.

To fulfill her new obligations to the Underworld, Pierce realizes she needs to figure out how to fix this – not only for the dead, but for the living…

I loved Abandon and liked Underworld – an opinion that I sort of doubt in retrospect, in fact I believe a full trilogy reread is in order – and Awaken? Well, it is one heck of a finale!!!

As I’ve said in the past, I was first enchanted by Meg Cabot under a different name – Jenny Carroll. Her Mediator and 1-800 series were darker and longer than the series she has been penning as of late.

Don’t get me wrong, I pretty much love every single book she puts out there – but the fact that this trilogy has a little bit of that darker edge kind of thrilled me. I still don’t know if I can put them on par with those series, but the Abandon trilogy is AWESOME!

At the start, I didn’t like a scene in which I felt (surprisingly) that Meg was mocking someone with faith in God. Yet, I do feel like this was rectified – I certainly hope so, because as a Christian and a huge fan of hers, that would suck. It did really seem to have a purpose that came full circle though, so I hope that you don’t let it put a bad taste in your mouth at the beginning!

Moving on from that, Awaken is an excellent, passionate, happily different finale!

Pierce and John’s relationship is really the core of this trilogy. It’s a retelling of the Greek myth of Persephone, after all. Only a bit less disturbing – and kinda hot.

As a character, Pierce is very unique. She knows what she wants, she has a temper, and there’s a self-assurance about her that is invigorating. She got a lot of opportunities in this last book to come into her new position, and it was both fun and suspenseful to watch that journey.

I highly enjoyed Awaken and can’t wait for even more from Meg Cabot! Soon, hopefully!!!


Awesome review! Thank you for the good read.

Popular posts from this blog

Real Live Boyfriends

Real Live Boyfriends is a YA contemporary novel by E. Lockhart, and the fourth novel in the Ruby Oliver quartet.

Here we are on the last day of “Ruby Oliver Week” and if you aren’t already reading these books – well, why not?

But I’m more than sure most of you are – and hopefully you’re all caught up, and therefore not at risk of being spoiled by my review of Real Live Boyfriends. You’ve been warned!

Ruby Oliver is beginning her senior year of high school with a real live boyfriend: Noel.

At least she thought she was.

After having spent the rest of junior year and the beginning of summer being fully in love (okay, they never actually said the word, but the vibes were strongly in that direction), Ruby is now confused.


When Noel went to visit his brother in New York for a while, almost every day they talked on the phone and exchanged funny emails. She never once felt insecure.

Until all of a sudden – communication stopped. Ruby would call and he wouldn’t answer. She’d leave a voice mai…

Interview with Joanna Philbin!

Today we have an extra special guest! Joanna Philbin, author of The Daughters series, is here to tell us about the fourth and (*sniff*) final book in the series - The Daughters Join the Party - as well as answer some other questions!

Welcome to the Bibliophile Support Group, Joanna! We're happy to have you!

So, for anybody who hasn't read the first three books in The Daughters series (read my reviews here: The Daughters, The Daughters Break the Rules, The Daughters Take the Stage) can you give everybody a general idea of what they're about?

Lizzie, Carina, and Hudson are best friends who are normal fourteen year-old girls in almost every way. Except for one: each girl has a parent who is incredibly famous. And her parent’s fame complicates her life in a big way. Lizzie’s mom is a supermodel, but Lizzie isn’t what most people would call “beautiful” – in fact, she’s what most people might call “unusual-looking.” How do you deal with having a supermodel mother when you don’t …

#YAStandsFor Daily Social Challenge... Day 5!

In my final day of participating in the I Read YA Week celebration (you can keep partying, it goes on through Monday!), I found myself presented with a new challenge of: Create a graphic showcasing an inspirational YA quote.

I'm not super tech savvy and I've never created a graphic before. But with just a little Google searching and a download of an app, I was able to create this:

Thanks for joining me this week! I hope you all enjoyed it! Please follow or subscribe for notifications of new posts and reviews upcoming on the Bibliophile Support Group!