Skip to main content

Rise of the Darklings

Rise of the Darklings is the first book in a new middlegrade fantasy trilogy called The Invisible Order, written by Paul Crilley.

Victorian England is a daunting place when you're only 12-years-old and having to support your 9-year-old brother all by yourself. This is Emily's life after both her parents vanished years earlier. Things are tough for her, but she's determined to get them through it. That's why she's running to work that morning. That's why she took the shortcut through the alley.

That's why she saw the faeries.

It was a sight for delusional eyes, and she couldn't believe it. A war was happening right in front of her between creatures that in no way could be classified as human, or any other being of common-knowledge. And before she could think straight, two mysterious men - one extremely tall and thin, the other rather round and short - pop out at her, asking her odd questions.

She gets away, but her life changes.

Suddenly she is thrust into a faery war, without so much as a "how do you do", that has been raging for centuries, unbeknownst to human eyes. But now Emily's eyes have been opened. The results? Her brother is kidnapped. In order to save her brother, she must foray further into this world - a world of underground towns, enigmatic societies and secret agendas.

And it doesn't help that no one seems to be telling her the truth.

Ooooh, do I love fantasy trilogies! Rise of the Darklings was a winner!!! A Victorian-era fantasy adventure that crackles with magic and legend - a lethally entertaining combination that has that great sense of being just as exciting and mesmerizing for the adult reader, as well as the younger one.

Mature Emily is an amazing, smart, hard-to-rattle heroine that takes the supernatural happenings and strange encounters in stride. The colorful, bright, varied creatures and environments that Paul Crilley weaves into a tale of wonder create a truly fun, escapist ride.

Rise of the Darklings dips its toe in the water of darker folklore villains, such as Black Annis and Jenny Greenteeth, being just chilling enough to be suspenseful and dangerous without going too far. The sometimes menacing, always delightfully thrilling, Rise of the Darklings has a perfect, new mixture of influences (in my opinion) of Harry Potter, Alice in Wonderland, and European lore. It is a genuinely creative, eccentric, cinematic, epic fantasy!

Smile-worthy details, twists I did not see coming, and amusing dialogue left me famished for more of The Invisible Order! I cannot wait for the second book, The Fire King! What a fantastical, fantastical read!

Though its been days since I finished Rise of the Darklings, I still think about it from time to time. It left an excellent, enchanting impression. Believe the hype and read it!!! :)


Popular posts from this blog

Real Live Boyfriends

Real Live Boyfriends is a YA contemporary novel by E. Lockhart, and the fourth novel in the Ruby Oliver quartet.

Here we are on the last day of “Ruby Oliver Week” and if you aren’t already reading these books – well, why not?

But I’m more than sure most of you are – and hopefully you’re all caught up, and therefore not at risk of being spoiled by my review of Real Live Boyfriends. You’ve been warned!

Ruby Oliver is beginning her senior year of high school with a real live boyfriend: Noel.

At least she thought she was.

After having spent the rest of junior year and the beginning of summer being fully in love (okay, they never actually said the word, but the vibes were strongly in that direction), Ruby is now confused.


When Noel went to visit his brother in New York for a while, almost every day they talked on the phone and exchanged funny emails. She never once felt insecure.

Until all of a sudden – communication stopped. Ruby would call and he wouldn’t answer. She’d leave a voice mai…

Interview with Joanna Philbin!

Today we have an extra special guest! Joanna Philbin, author of The Daughters series, is here to tell us about the fourth and (*sniff*) final book in the series - The Daughters Join the Party - as well as answer some other questions!

Welcome to the Bibliophile Support Group, Joanna! We're happy to have you!

So, for anybody who hasn't read the first three books in The Daughters series (read my reviews here: The Daughters, The Daughters Break the Rules, The Daughters Take the Stage) can you give everybody a general idea of what they're about?

Lizzie, Carina, and Hudson are best friends who are normal fourteen year-old girls in almost every way. Except for one: each girl has a parent who is incredibly famous. And her parent’s fame complicates her life in a big way. Lizzie’s mom is a supermodel, but Lizzie isn’t what most people would call “beautiful” – in fact, she’s what most people might call “unusual-looking.” How do you deal with having a supermodel mother when you don’t …

#YAStandsFor Daily Social Challenge... Day 5!

In my final day of participating in the I Read YA Week celebration (you can keep partying, it goes on through Monday!), I found myself presented with a new challenge of: Create a graphic showcasing an inspirational YA quote.

I'm not super tech savvy and I've never created a graphic before. But with just a little Google searching and a download of an app, I was able to create this:

Thanks for joining me this week! I hope you all enjoyed it! Please follow or subscribe for notifications of new posts and reviews upcoming on the Bibliophile Support Group!