Wednesday, September 23, 2015

Of Noble Family

Of Noble Family is the fifth and final novel in The Glamourist Histories by Mary Robinette Kowal.

I am passionate about this series, primarily due to the absolutely wonderful characterizations and lovely Regency atmosphere. Therefore, I strongly recommend reading these books in order:

Shades of Milk and Honey: Here
Glamour in Glass: Here
Without a Summer: Here
Valour and Vanity: Here
Of Noble Family

As you can see, you can click on each prior title to be swept away to my reviews of those books. Again, if you are not caught up with the series – I ardently recommend reading them, in order, before this review of the final book!

After their exhausting time in Italy, Jane and Vincent have been able to do some relaxing with Jane’s family, including her sister’s new baby, whom they both find themselves enjoying immensely.

Yet, when news comes to Vincent stating that his estranged, fugitive father has died – his soul is thrown into turmoil. He attempts to push aside the tumultuous emotions and horrific memories of a cruel father and agrees, with Jane by his side, to go to the West Indies on his elder brother’s behalf.

It’s a long sea voyage and the heat of Antigua is instantly wearying. However, the married couple do not plan to stay long – especially once they realize Jane is more than seasick.

But what they find at the estate is that everything they’ve been told is a lie. And getting back home may not be as simple as initially believed…

Anyone who has read my reviews of the books in this series know that I adore this story. I adore the Regency era, the excellently paced feeling Kowal gives it, the expertly done language that provides a sense of Jane Austen that so many try – and fail – to emulate, the delicately approached fantasy element in the Glamour magic and most of all: Jane and Vincent.

Together and apart, Jane and Vincent are two of my favorite characters in literature. Smart, flawed, complicated but oh-so-devoted to each other and their glamour art, these two are a realistically portrayed married couple. It’s not often, and it’s unfortunate to say, that a novel can keep up the romantic tension and intense chemistry that Jane and Vincent have – once married. Yet not only does Kowal do that, but she makes it EVEN BETTER by making them best friends – thoroughly knowing and caring about one another. Such a gorgeous, addictively readable couple.

Placing them in this unpleasant situation (which I am not providing much details on for your optimum reading pleasure) is terribly suspenseful and left me with worse nerves than Mrs. Bennett at times. But what a rewarding read!

This is truly a series that I will look forward to rereading in the future!!!

1 comment:

Dominique said...

hmm, I hadn't heard of this series before reading your review, but it sounds like one I may have to check out! That's quite a cover too! Thanks for posting :)

The Book Vault