Skip to main content

And Then Everything Unraveled


And Then Everything Unraveled is a YA mystery dramedy by author Jennifer Sturman.

Delia Truesdale is used to her Internet tycoon mother, T. K., being anything but ordinary. So, when said mother leaves the country for an exploration of environmental concerns in Antarctica, Delia hardly bats an eye. She takes advantage of the time to surf the California waves and avoid studying math, as the brilliant gene seems to have skipped her generation.

But then, all of a sudden, everything unravels.

T. K.'s ship has gone missing - has literally disappeared. And everyone believes she is dead - leaving Delia an orphan. But Delia is convinced that they're all wrong - that her mother is still alive out there, that she would know if her Mom was indeed dead. However, the protestations of a sixteen-year-old girl don't hold up against the evidence of adults, and Delia has to have a guardian, so T. K.'s will is read. Delia gets another shock when she finds out she's going to be sent to New York to live with her aunt, whom she's never met, since a family division took place before her birth.

Before she knows it she's attending a Gossip Girl-esque private school and getting to know her admittedly awesome aunt - oh, and falling absolutely brain-dead and temporaily mute around a particularly good-looking popular guy.

Yet none of this can take Delia's mind off her mother. She's convinced she's out there somewhere in need of rescue. So, she decides to take the investigation into her own hands - but what she's begins to uncover may be something that no one was ever meant to unravel...

First off, I have to say - I absolutely adore this cover! Okay, now that that has been established we can start talking about what is actually inside the cover -

Which is awesome!!!

And Then Everything Unraveled is near to bursting with colorful, hilarious, grin-worthy, vibrant, vivid characters that bring a whimsical flare to a wholly fun, clue-finding sort of novel. There's an honest-to-goodness joyous quality about the book that just made me happy the entire time I was reading it (which wasn't long, as it flew by very fast). And the cast, including the crazy, exploding-with-personality aunts, added immensely to that!

I really did love And Then Everything Unraveled - I was intrigued with the mystery and enjoyed the unexpected, original secondary characters that demand their own spotlight (rightfully), such as a heavily accented, laugh-out-loud funny, mini-skirt-wearin' psychic that shows up later on.

Jennifer Sturman presents pop culture and Nancy Drew mystery solving up the whazoo - creating a delightful, romantic, breezily fun, fantastic treat of a novel that is perfect for fans of Michele Jaffe, Maureen Johnson, and Meg Cabot!

And the "To Be Continued..." at the end brings only happiness to crazy, ol' bibliophile me! ;)

Comments

thanks! for sharing this.

Popular posts from this blog

Reckless

Reckless is a YA fantasy adventure by the ever-revered (for good reason) Cornelia Funke.

Jacob Reckless has been passing through a mirror portal in his father's forgotten (or, rather, ignored) study for years now. After his father disappeared and his mother became a shell of her former self, he found it. Since then, it's been hard to stay tethered to his world - instead, he's become more and more connected to the alternative option.

In fact, he's managed to make a name for himself as a treasure hunter. And always by his side is a loyal vixen named Fox, a shape-shifter. She's probably the closest thing he has to a friend - but Jacob still considers himself a loner. But he's become comfortable with the different creatures, monsters, and magic this world has to offer - even though right now they are at war with a stone people called Goyl. None of that interests him. He just seeks out his mysterious objects and fetches good prices.

But that's all about to change. …

Real Live Boyfriends

Real Live Boyfriends is a YA contemporary novel by E. Lockhart, and the fourth novel in the Ruby Oliver quartet.

Here we are on the last day of “Ruby Oliver Week” and if you aren’t already reading these books – well, why not?

But I’m more than sure most of you are – and hopefully you’re all caught up, and therefore not at risk of being spoiled by my review of Real Live Boyfriends. You’ve been warned!

Ruby Oliver is beginning her senior year of high school with a real live boyfriend: Noel.

At least she thought she was.

After having spent the rest of junior year and the beginning of summer being fully in love (okay, they never actually said the word, but the vibes were strongly in that direction), Ruby is now confused.

Again.

When Noel went to visit his brother in New York for a while, almost every day they talked on the phone and exchanged funny emails. She never once felt insecure.

Until all of a sudden – communication stopped. Ruby would call and he wouldn’t answer. She’d leave a voice mai…

Titanic: S.O.S.

S.O.S. is the third and final book in Gordon Korman's middle-grade Titanic trilogy.

This is the third book in a trilogy, book addicts! You must, I repeat, must read the first two books (Unsinkable and Collision Course) before you read this review. Otherwise you are just going to ruin all the twists! Sure, we know the Titanic sinks - but the surprises that are revealed about our characters, among other things, should not be spoiled!

But all of you that have read the first two books (which I hope are many of you, because this a great series), can rest assured that I won't spoil anything from S.O.S. itself - just a basic recap and my opinion.

Here goes:

The Titanic is sinking. No one wants to believe it, but the bow is almost imperceptibly starting to dip into the freezing Atlantic Ocean - and our four main characters are thrown into a race for survival.

Paddy is locked up below deck, having finally been caught as a stowaway. In one cell over are the very criminals that wish him dead…