Skip to main content

The Chronicles of Crestomanci Volume I: Charmed Life & The Lives of Christopher Chant

The Chronicles of Chrestomanci, Volume I includes Charmed Life and The Lives of Christopher Chant, the first two novels in Diana Wynne Jones’ fantasy series.

Neither Cat or Christopher Chant can perform even the simplest of spells – they’ve given up the idea of being good at magic.

So, when they’re introduced to situations that greatly need it – what will they do?

Cat relies on his sister – strong in magical abilities and personality – as they enter the Chrestomanci’s castle as wards and find little to like there.

Christopher yearns to please his uncle as his nighttime childhood jaunts to other worlds appear to be useful, if secretive, to him.

Both are involved in dangerous schemes without knowing it… will they defeat them?

It was difficult coming up with a synopsis for this novel, since it’s an omnibus of the first two and I really didn’t want to give much of anything away.

There’s a strong chance that you’ve already read Charmed Life and The Lives of Christopher Chant, as they are much older titles! I am only just getting introduced to Diana Wynne Jones, back with Howl’s Moving Castle, and I must say – I’m delighted!!!

The first story in The Chronicles of Crestomanci, Volume I, Charmed Life was, well, charming! Also, original and very imaginative.

Cat as a character goes through impressive character growth in the novel. All the characters are interesting, bursting with personality, and the locale of this fantasy land plus the Chrestomanci castle sweep the mind away quite pleasantly.

What’s especially nice is that beyond Charmed Life being satisfyingly magical and full of slow-brimming, excellent surprises and continual twists, there’s this feeling of a cohesive plot that pulls all this whimsy together.

It’s enjoyable and fun but has enough depth and wight to make it mean something.

Then the second book, The Lives of Christopher Chant, gives us more history – goes back in time a bit from the first book, and allows us more insight and a glimpse at truly intriguing characters and situations.

I wasn’t sure if the second book would be able to meet the high standards I had of the first, yet it matched or maybe even exceeded them!!!

The Lives of Christopher Chant was also entertaining, different, and enchanting.

I know I’m not giving a lot of details, but I hope you realize that these two books in one was a BLAST!!! They feature children characters but I was pleased to pieces and I’m going to be going on my 26th birthday this year.

So, check it out!!!

I now desperately want the next four books (in two omnibuses!).


Popular posts from this blog

Real Live Boyfriends

Real Live Boyfriends is a YA contemporary novel by E. Lockhart, and the fourth novel in the Ruby Oliver quartet.

Here we are on the last day of “Ruby Oliver Week” and if you aren’t already reading these books – well, why not?

But I’m more than sure most of you are – and hopefully you’re all caught up, and therefore not at risk of being spoiled by my review of Real Live Boyfriends. You’ve been warned!

Ruby Oliver is beginning her senior year of high school with a real live boyfriend: Noel.

At least she thought she was.

After having spent the rest of junior year and the beginning of summer being fully in love (okay, they never actually said the word, but the vibes were strongly in that direction), Ruby is now confused.


When Noel went to visit his brother in New York for a while, almost every day they talked on the phone and exchanged funny emails. She never once felt insecure.

Until all of a sudden – communication stopped. Ruby would call and he wouldn’t answer. She’d leave a voice mai…

Interview with Joanna Philbin!

Today we have an extra special guest! Joanna Philbin, author of The Daughters series, is here to tell us about the fourth and (*sniff*) final book in the series - The Daughters Join the Party - as well as answer some other questions!

Welcome to the Bibliophile Support Group, Joanna! We're happy to have you!

So, for anybody who hasn't read the first three books in The Daughters series (read my reviews here: The Daughters, The Daughters Break the Rules, The Daughters Take the Stage) can you give everybody a general idea of what they're about?

Lizzie, Carina, and Hudson are best friends who are normal fourteen year-old girls in almost every way. Except for one: each girl has a parent who is incredibly famous. And her parent’s fame complicates her life in a big way. Lizzie’s mom is a supermodel, but Lizzie isn’t what most people would call “beautiful” – in fact, she’s what most people might call “unusual-looking.” How do you deal with having a supermodel mother when you don’t …

#YAStandsFor Daily Social Challenge... Day 5!

In my final day of participating in the I Read YA Week celebration (you can keep partying, it goes on through Monday!), I found myself presented with a new challenge of: Create a graphic showcasing an inspirational YA quote.

I'm not super tech savvy and I've never created a graphic before. But with just a little Google searching and a download of an app, I was able to create this:

Thanks for joining me this week! I hope you all enjoyed it! Please follow or subscribe for notifications of new posts and reviews upcoming on the Bibliophile Support Group!