Skip to main content


Teardrop is a YA start to a contemporary fantasy trilogy by Fallen author Lauren Kate.

Eureka has never cried.

Not since she was a little girl and her mother drilled that into her in one shocking, startling moment.

But now her mother is gone. Killed when an out-of-nowhere wave swept them off a bridge and drowned her. Who knows how Eureka survived.

She wishes she didn’t.

Filled with suppressed emotion and deep grief over a mother she loved deeply, Eureka still hasn’t cried.

There’s not much left that she really cares about. There are a couple of childhood friends and her two little half-siblings and dad – but she feels so dead inside.

When Ander, a pale boy with eyes that seem to know her inexplicably, warns her that she is in danger – she tries to brush it off.

But her mother’s odd inheritance of a locket, a letter, a puzzling stone and a book no one can read come into her possession – she begins to wonder just what her mom was keeping from her.

Upon finding someone who has the ability to translate the strange book, she learns that it is a story of a girl whose heart was broken and cried an entire continent, Atlantis, into the sea.

It disturbs Eureka.

There may be dark secrets concerning herself that she needs to uncover, she may need to listen to Ander when he tries to tell her things she doesn’t want to hear.

And she, and those she cares for despite the barrenness inside of her, may truly be in danger.

As you fellow bibliophiles may recall, I very much liked Lauren Kate’s Fallen – and then each successive book in that YA fantasy quartet was liked less and less by me.

That’s why I go into this new trilogy a little hesitantly. I’ve been burned before, after all.

Teardrop has an admittedly powerful prologue, though.

Deep mourning and negative emotion have made Eureka a stoic, rather different, sad individual and heroine for our story here. I liked it, but it was also depressing.

There’s an interesting, slow-building but intriguing vibe.

The book from Eureka’s mother that begins to get translated didn’t do much for me – and I admit I started to get a little frustrated with the pacing. The only thing truly keeping me hanging in there was the tension in Eureka’s interpersonal relationships.

Action finally started to pick up a LITTLE just as I was starting to get fed up with the lack of information and procession of an actual plot. Finally revelations began to flood in near the end along with a couple of surprising twists.

Teardrop then had a rather horrifying, shocking climax that was very disquieting.

So, I was left feeling a little “hmm”.

Essentially, I kind of wanted more from Teardrop but I do feel intrigued. Maybe the second book will make my feelings easier to understand.


Popular posts from this blog

Real Live Boyfriends

Real Live Boyfriends is a YA contemporary novel by E. Lockhart, and the fourth novel in the Ruby Oliver quartet.

Here we are on the last day of “Ruby Oliver Week” and if you aren’t already reading these books – well, why not?

But I’m more than sure most of you are – and hopefully you’re all caught up, and therefore not at risk of being spoiled by my review of Real Live Boyfriends. You’ve been warned!

Ruby Oliver is beginning her senior year of high school with a real live boyfriend: Noel.

At least she thought she was.

After having spent the rest of junior year and the beginning of summer being fully in love (okay, they never actually said the word, but the vibes were strongly in that direction), Ruby is now confused.


When Noel went to visit his brother in New York for a while, almost every day they talked on the phone and exchanged funny emails. She never once felt insecure.

Until all of a sudden – communication stopped. Ruby would call and he wouldn’t answer. She’d leave a voice mai…

Titanic: S.O.S.

S.O.S. is the third and final book in Gordon Korman's middle-grade Titanic trilogy.

This is the third book in a trilogy, book addicts! You must, I repeat, must read the first two books (Unsinkable and Collision Course) before you read this review. Otherwise you are just going to ruin all the twists! Sure, we know the Titanic sinks - but the surprises that are revealed about our characters, among other things, should not be spoiled!

But all of you that have read the first two books (which I hope are many of you, because this a great series), can rest assured that I won't spoil anything from S.O.S. itself - just a basic recap and my opinion.

Here goes:

The Titanic is sinking. No one wants to believe it, but the bow is almost imperceptibly starting to dip into the freezing Atlantic Ocean - and our four main characters are thrown into a race for survival.

Paddy is locked up below deck, having finally been caught as a stowaway. In one cell over are the very criminals that wish him dead…


Why hello there, loyal readers!

It's been a long, long time since I last wrote about a new novel - or wrote much of anything original. Life has definitely changed for me in many ways, changing how and where I devote my time.

But... whaddya know? I managed to finally finish a book!

Gardenia is a YA genre mash of murder mystery with a dash of sci-fi/fantasy, written by author Kelsey Sutton.

When Ivy's best friend died, it wasn't a surprise to her.

Because, ever since she was little, Ivy has seen the numbers over everyone's heads. Their countdown, if you will.

But she didn't know the cause of her best friend's death would be... murder.

Labled as a bit of an outcast, due to her odd behavior and reaction to Vanessa's death, Ivy finds herself more alone than ever as she is determined to find her friend's killer.

And she doesn't have much time, herself... as she's known her whole life.

Now, she realizes, it may be that she may give up her life to catch…