Skip to main content

Waiting for Spring

Waiting for Spring is an inspirational historical romance by Amanda Cabot, and the second in the Westward Winds series.

This book can be read as a stand-alone, but I would recommend reading Summer of Promise first just because there are a couple of light spoilers as to how everything turns out in that book in Waiting for Spring. So, it’s up to you. If you’d like to read my review of Summer of Promise, click here.

Charlotte left Fort Laramie after the death of her husband and birth of her baby boy. It had been necessary since her husband’s revealed criminal behavior put herself and her child in danger – so in Cheyenne Charlotte has changed her last name and pieced a new life together.

After a long, hard year Charlotte is doing well with her dress shop. Her son is doing well – but a disability noticed after she left Fort Laramie has her keeping him sheltered.

Barrett Landry has been determined to do well for himself – being a cattle baron is good and fine, but being a political figure helping the people of the state is even better. But all those around him advise him of marrying before getting too serious – someone with connections, no secrets, and a pretty picture on his arm.

Yet his heart keeps pulling him towards Charlotte – but is she keeping her past hidden from him?

Waiting for Spring features an admirable character in Charlotte. My favorite parts of the novel were the scenes between her and her son. Barrett at first seemed preoccupied with his ambitions, he took longer to grow on me – but he did.

Honestly, I felt the plot was a little bland – I wished for something more dynamic, fresher, different. Yet Amanda Cabot has penned a sweet, good-natured and great heroine and a good suspense/romance story in Waiting for Spring.

Unfortunately, the book just never really caught ground for me. I didn’t connect to much besides Charlotte. There was a strong overall feeling of predictability and a bit of frustration from me for the pieces to fall into place as I knew they would.

The romance was pleasant but I actually enjoyed Waiting for Spring less than Summer of Promise. I love the Christian aspect of these inspirational historical romances – but my personal bibliophile tastes tend to need more than a romance story. I didn’t find it here.

You might, though! If you’re interested in seamstress activity in the late 1800s and/or romance, this could be the perfect book for you!!

*Available January 2013 at your favorite bookseller from Revell, a division of Baker Publishing Group.

*I received a copy of Waiting for Spring from the Baker Publishing Group. Their generosity in no way influenced, nor sought to influence, my opinion of the novel.


Amanda Cabot said…
Angie -- Thanks so much for taking the time to read and review my story. I appreciate it!

Popular posts from this blog

Real Live Boyfriends

Real Live Boyfriends is a YA contemporary novel by E. Lockhart, and the fourth novel in the Ruby Oliver quartet.

Here we are on the last day of “Ruby Oliver Week” and if you aren’t already reading these books – well, why not?

But I’m more than sure most of you are – and hopefully you’re all caught up, and therefore not at risk of being spoiled by my review of Real Live Boyfriends. You’ve been warned!

Ruby Oliver is beginning her senior year of high school with a real live boyfriend: Noel.

At least she thought she was.

After having spent the rest of junior year and the beginning of summer being fully in love (okay, they never actually said the word, but the vibes were strongly in that direction), Ruby is now confused.


When Noel went to visit his brother in New York for a while, almost every day they talked on the phone and exchanged funny emails. She never once felt insecure.

Until all of a sudden – communication stopped. Ruby would call and he wouldn’t answer. She’d leave a voice mai…

Titanic: S.O.S.

S.O.S. is the third and final book in Gordon Korman's middle-grade Titanic trilogy.

This is the third book in a trilogy, book addicts! You must, I repeat, must read the first two books (Unsinkable and Collision Course) before you read this review. Otherwise you are just going to ruin all the twists! Sure, we know the Titanic sinks - but the surprises that are revealed about our characters, among other things, should not be spoiled!

But all of you that have read the first two books (which I hope are many of you, because this a great series), can rest assured that I won't spoil anything from S.O.S. itself - just a basic recap and my opinion.

Here goes:

The Titanic is sinking. No one wants to believe it, but the bow is almost imperceptibly starting to dip into the freezing Atlantic Ocean - and our four main characters are thrown into a race for survival.

Paddy is locked up below deck, having finally been caught as a stowaway. In one cell over are the very criminals that wish him dead…


Why hello there, loyal readers!

It's been a long, long time since I last wrote about a new novel - or wrote much of anything original. Life has definitely changed for me in many ways, changing how and where I devote my time.

But... whaddya know? I managed to finally finish a book!

Gardenia is a YA genre mash of murder mystery with a dash of sci-fi/fantasy, written by author Kelsey Sutton.

When Ivy's best friend died, it wasn't a surprise to her.

Because, ever since she was little, Ivy has seen the numbers over everyone's heads. Their countdown, if you will.

But she didn't know the cause of her best friend's death would be... murder.

Labled as a bit of an outcast, due to her odd behavior and reaction to Vanessa's death, Ivy finds herself more alone than ever as she is determined to find her friend's killer.

And she doesn't have much time, herself... as she's known her whole life.

Now, she realizes, it may be that she may give up her life to catch…