Skip to main content

Candle Man: The Society of Unrelenting Vigilance

The Society of Unrelenting Vigilance is the first book in a planned trilogy named Candle Man by Glenn Dakin.

The plot centers on teenage Theo who has been brought up in what would basically be described a “secluded” way. You see, he’s been told since he can remember that he has a serious and dangerous illness involving his hands, which means Theo wears special gloves. Thing is, his guardian, Mr. Saint, and his ever-present butler, Mr. Nicely (I know, awesome names, right?!) have kept Theo so cut off from the outside world, that he can’t help but thirst for knowledge of the rest of England.

So as soon as Theo has the opportunity to escape the confines of his room, he takes it. Even if he is rather frightened and unprepared for what lies ahead of him.

What he doesn’t realize until later is, his guardian might not be such a “saint”, nor his butler quite as “nice” as he always believed. And maybe he has a true ancestor; someone called reverently the “Candle Man”. And maybe there’s an evil conspiracy at works.

And maybe, just maybe, Theo is the only one who can stop it.

With a title like The Society of Unrelenting Vigilance, I already had a feeling I would like it. And guess what?

I did. :)

I liked it quite a bit actually! Right away there was a hint of A Series of Unfortunate Events in the style of writing (not quite as many vocabulary definition pauses, though, lol) and zest of characters. That’s a plus right away, in my Lemony-Snicket-lovin’ opinion.

But the plot itself was original, fun, engaging, and had just the right amount of seriousness and depth to make it more than just a fluff book (which I have nothing against – I just do appreciate some sincerity). Theo is truly a sympathetic, likeable character. Glenn Dakin manages to make him na├»ve without making him stupid, and sweet without being wimpy.

The whole cast of characters are flavorful and attention grabbing – and the action is actually rather thrilling! The fantasy elements and creatures were well executed – and, again, quite unique and interestingly incorporated into the plot. I think you’ll know what I mean when you read it.

I don’t want to give too much away, is pretty much what I’m saying. As always. ;)

I think the point is: There are actually twists to give away, which means you should NOT pass on The Society of Unrelenting Vigilance just because it may say “Middle Grade” or “Ages 10 and up”.

Most of us bibliophiles know better than to pay any attention to these labels – since an awesome book knows no age limits! But I was once, alas, a simple-minded bibliophile-in-training that for a time did pay attention to such things – so I warn any that are as I once was.

Candle Man: The Society of Unrelenting Vigilance is a witty, smart, entertaining fantasy novel that left me quite, ahem, “vigilantly” looking out for the next book in this trilogy. ;)
Check out the official website at:


Popular posts from this blog

Real Live Boyfriends

Real Live Boyfriends is a YA contemporary novel by E. Lockhart, and the fourth novel in the Ruby Oliver quartet.

Here we are on the last day of “Ruby Oliver Week” and if you aren’t already reading these books – well, why not?

But I’m more than sure most of you are – and hopefully you’re all caught up, and therefore not at risk of being spoiled by my review of Real Live Boyfriends. You’ve been warned!

Ruby Oliver is beginning her senior year of high school with a real live boyfriend: Noel.

At least she thought she was.

After having spent the rest of junior year and the beginning of summer being fully in love (okay, they never actually said the word, but the vibes were strongly in that direction), Ruby is now confused.


When Noel went to visit his brother in New York for a while, almost every day they talked on the phone and exchanged funny emails. She never once felt insecure.

Until all of a sudden – communication stopped. Ruby would call and he wouldn’t answer. She’d leave a voice mai…

Interview with Joanna Philbin!

Today we have an extra special guest! Joanna Philbin, author of The Daughters series, is here to tell us about the fourth and (*sniff*) final book in the series - The Daughters Join the Party - as well as answer some other questions!

Welcome to the Bibliophile Support Group, Joanna! We're happy to have you!

So, for anybody who hasn't read the first three books in The Daughters series (read my reviews here: The Daughters, The Daughters Break the Rules, The Daughters Take the Stage) can you give everybody a general idea of what they're about?

Lizzie, Carina, and Hudson are best friends who are normal fourteen year-old girls in almost every way. Except for one: each girl has a parent who is incredibly famous. And her parent’s fame complicates her life in a big way. Lizzie’s mom is a supermodel, but Lizzie isn’t what most people would call “beautiful” – in fact, she’s what most people might call “unusual-looking.” How do you deal with having a supermodel mother when you don’t …

#YAStandsFor Daily Social Challenge... Day 5!

In my final day of participating in the I Read YA Week celebration (you can keep partying, it goes on through Monday!), I found myself presented with a new challenge of: Create a graphic showcasing an inspirational YA quote.

I'm not super tech savvy and I've never created a graphic before. But with just a little Google searching and a download of an app, I was able to create this:

Thanks for joining me this week! I hope you all enjoyed it! Please follow or subscribe for notifications of new posts and reviews upcoming on the Bibliophile Support Group!