Skip to main content

The Shamer Chronicles

The Shamer's War is the final book in the thrilling series, The Shamer Chronicles. It began with The Shamer's Daughter and continued with The Shamer's Signet and The Serpent Gift. I won't give a description of The Shamer's War because it would give spoilers for the first three books for those of you who haven't had the exciting chance to read them yet! So I'm going to write on the first book, The Shamer's Daughter and give you the basic gist of it. Because, honestly, you are truly missing out by not reading these fantastic book by the amazing author Lene Kaaberbol.

Dina has inherited her mother's "gift" - being a Shamer. But Dina in no way finds the ability to force people to look into your eyes and cause them shame for past wrongs a gift. Especially since neither do the fellow villagers. Despite being only 10 years old, no one will look her in the eye. And deep down, Dina understands it is because looking into a Shamer's eyes only brings back past despair - but it can't help but be a little lonely.

But Shamer's do have a practical purpose which outweighs the overall feeling of fright by others. When any crimes have been committed the villagers simply call upon the Shamer who can easily (well, not exactly easily since the Shamer sees everything the criminal saw, felt, etc., when looking in their eyes) determine guilt or innocence and turn a raving, bloodthirsty murderer into a sobbing mess.

It's on a call like this that her mother goes on - and doesn't come back. Her brother Davin and her little sister Melli can't help but worry. And when a messenger from where her mother is working comes and says Dina's help is needed, she jumps at the opportunity to get to her mother.

But what awaits her there is only the beginning of a nightmare and she learns that the worst enemy she can have is one without shame.

I don't know if that's enough or not to get you intrigued, but I just hate giving stuff away.

And don't be scared off by Dina's young age - she is surprisingly mature and reads much older and wiser than her young years on the page.

These books aren't afraid to go where other books don't. Bad stuff happens. But also wonderful, poignant friendships and courage are highlighted - and not in a schmaltzy, corny way.

It can be truly frightening, heart-pounding thrilling - you never lack a reason to be on the edge of your seat. There are occasions that make you laugh - and especially parts that make you cry.

The Shamer Chronicles are full of political intrigue, espionage, original fantasy concepts and ideas, and plenty of realistic family interplay.

I love, love, love these books and was breathless to the very last page. I am sad that the story is over but also extremely satisfied with the excellent conclusion. Don't miss out on reading and rereading this phenomenal series!!!


Popular posts from this blog

Real Live Boyfriends

Real Live Boyfriends is a YA contemporary novel by E. Lockhart, and the fourth novel in the Ruby Oliver quartet.

Here we are on the last day of “Ruby Oliver Week” and if you aren’t already reading these books – well, why not?

But I’m more than sure most of you are – and hopefully you’re all caught up, and therefore not at risk of being spoiled by my review of Real Live Boyfriends. You’ve been warned!

Ruby Oliver is beginning her senior year of high school with a real live boyfriend: Noel.

At least she thought she was.

After having spent the rest of junior year and the beginning of summer being fully in love (okay, they never actually said the word, but the vibes were strongly in that direction), Ruby is now confused.


When Noel went to visit his brother in New York for a while, almost every day they talked on the phone and exchanged funny emails. She never once felt insecure.

Until all of a sudden – communication stopped. Ruby would call and he wouldn’t answer. She’d leave a voice mai…

Titanic: S.O.S.

S.O.S. is the third and final book in Gordon Korman's middle-grade Titanic trilogy.

This is the third book in a trilogy, book addicts! You must, I repeat, must read the first two books (Unsinkable and Collision Course) before you read this review. Otherwise you are just going to ruin all the twists! Sure, we know the Titanic sinks - but the surprises that are revealed about our characters, among other things, should not be spoiled!

But all of you that have read the first two books (which I hope are many of you, because this a great series), can rest assured that I won't spoil anything from S.O.S. itself - just a basic recap and my opinion.

Here goes:

The Titanic is sinking. No one wants to believe it, but the bow is almost imperceptibly starting to dip into the freezing Atlantic Ocean - and our four main characters are thrown into a race for survival.

Paddy is locked up below deck, having finally been caught as a stowaway. In one cell over are the very criminals that wish him dead…


Why hello there, loyal readers!

It's been a long, long time since I last wrote about a new novel - or wrote much of anything original. Life has definitely changed for me in many ways, changing how and where I devote my time.

But... whaddya know? I managed to finally finish a book!

Gardenia is a YA genre mash of murder mystery with a dash of sci-fi/fantasy, written by author Kelsey Sutton.

When Ivy's best friend died, it wasn't a surprise to her.

Because, ever since she was little, Ivy has seen the numbers over everyone's heads. Their countdown, if you will.

But she didn't know the cause of her best friend's death would be... murder.

Labled as a bit of an outcast, due to her odd behavior and reaction to Vanessa's death, Ivy finds herself more alone than ever as she is determined to find her friend's killer.

And she doesn't have much time, herself... as she's known her whole life.

Now, she realizes, it may be that she may give up her life to catch…